Thurston County, Nebraska Records

Thurston County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on March 28, 1889 from Blackbird County and Omaha Reservation. The county was named in honor of John Mellen Thurston, a U. S. senator from Nebraska.

Thurston County is bordered by Dakota County  (north), Woodbury County, Iowa  (northeast), Monona County, Iowa  (east), Burt County  (southeast), Cuming County  (southwest), Wayne County  (west), Dixon County  (northwest).

Thurston County Cities and Towns include Emerson, Macy, Pender, Rosalie, Thurston, Walthill, Winnebago.

Thurston County Townships include Anderson, Blackbird, Bryan, Dawes, Flournoy, Merry, Omaha, Pender, Perry, Thayer, Winnebago.

A Map of Thurston County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Thurston County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Thurston County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Thurston County, NE Courthouse

The Thurston County Courthouse is located in Pender, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Thurston county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

From 1857—89, Thurston was part of the Omaha Reservation.

  • Thurston County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1855. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Thurston County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1882. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Thurston Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1895 and Court Records from 1886. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1886,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Thurston County, Nebraska Census Records

Thurston County, Nebraska Vital Records

Thurston County, Nebraska Resources

Thurston County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save