Dakota County, Nebraska Records

Dakota County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on March 07, 1855 from Burt County. The county was named for the Dakota branch of the Sioux Native American tribe.

Dakota County is bordered by Union County, South Dakota  (north), Woodbury County, Iowa  (east), Thurston County  (south), Dixon County  (west).

Dakota County Cities and Towns include Dakota City, South Sioux City, Emerson , Homer, Hubbard, Jackson.

A Map of Dakota County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Dakota County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Dakota County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Dakota County, NE Courthouse

The Dakota County Courthouse is located in Dakota City, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Dakota county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Dakota County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1856. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Dakota County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1855. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Dakota Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1858 and Court Records from 1857. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1857,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Dakota County, Nebraska Census Records

Dakota County, Nebraska Vital Records

Dakota County, Nebraska Resources

Dakota County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save