Union County, South Dakota Records

Union County, South Dakota (Map It) was created on January 07, 1864 from Unorganized territory. The county was named for the union of the American states.

Union County is bordered by Lincoln County (north), Sioux County, Iowa (northeast), Plymouth County, Iowa (east), Woodbury County, Iowa, Dakota County, Nebraska (south), Dixon County, Nebraska (southwest), Clay County (west).

Union County Cities and Towns include Alcester, Alsen, Beresford, Elk Point, Garryowen, Jefferson, Nora, North Sioux City, Richland, Spink.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old South Dakota maps.

Union County, South Dakota Courthouse Records

The Union County Courthouse is located in Elk Point, South Dakota. Learn More About State of South Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Union county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

The state archives has court records including land transactions (1860—1929); marriages (1919—23); wills (1870—1910); probate records (1869—1962); justice dockets (1868—1903); and bonds and court judgment books (1876—1948).

  • Union County Register of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1866  and Land Records from 1862?. The County Register of Deeds is the primary record-keeping and archival repository for county land records and for the recording & maintaining of records pertaining to that real estate, plats, deeds, mortgages & many miscellaneous documents. This office is the keeper of birth, death & marriage records, military discharge records, fictitious name filings, and various types of liens, including mechanic’s liens, state and federal tax liens.
  • Union County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1862? and Court Records from 1862?.

Union County, South Dakota Census Records

Union County, South Dakota Vital Records

Union County, South Dakota Resources

Union County, South Dakota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save