Cass County, Nebraska Records

Cass County, Nebraska (Map It) was was created on November 23, 1854 as One of Nine Original Counties. The county was named in honor of Lewis Cass, the territorial administrator and U.S. Senator from Michigan.

Cass County is bordered by Sarpy County  (north), Mills County, Iowa  (northeast), Fremont County, Iowa  (southeast), Otoe County  (south), Lancaster County  (west), Saunders County  (northwest).

Cass County Cities and Towns include Louisville, Plattsmouth, Weeping Water, Alvo, Avoca, Cedar Creek, Eagle, Elmwood, Greenwood, Manley, Murdock, Murray, Nehawka, South Bend, Union.

A Map of Cass County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Cass County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Cass County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Cass County, NE Courthouse

The Cass County Courthouse is located in Plattsmouth, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cass county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Cass County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1855. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Cass County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1855. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Cass Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1855 and Court Records from 1856. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1856,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Cass County, Nebraska Census Records

Cass County, Nebraska Vital Records

Cass County, Nebraska Resources

Cass County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save