Smith County, Mississippi Records

Smith County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 23, 1833 from Covington County, Jones County and Rankin County. The county was named in honor of David Smith, Revolutionary War major .

Smith County is bordered by Scott County (north), Jasper County (east), Jones County (southeast), Covington County (south), Simpson County (west) and Rankin County (northwest).

Smith County Cities and Towns include Mize, Raleigh, Taylorsville, Polkville, Sylvarena.

A Map of Smith County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Smith County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Smith County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Smith County, MS Courthouse

The Smith County Courthouse is located in Raleigh, Mississippi. There has been four courthouses in Raleigh due to fires. After the first courthouse burned, the Old Floyd Hotel was put to use as a courthouse, only to see the same thing happen to it in 1892.  This resulted in the loss of all of the records for Smith County.  A new building was erected and again was destroyed by fire in 1912, destroying practically all of the records.  The present courthouse was built in 1912. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Smith county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Smith County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1892, Probate Records from 1893 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Smith County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1912 and Court Records from ?. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Smith County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Smith County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Smith County, Mississippi Census Records

Smith County, Mississippi Vital Records

Smith County, Mississippi Resources

Smith County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save