Waseca County, Minnesota Records

Waseca County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on February 27, 1857 from Steele County. The county was named for the Dakota word meaning "rich and fertile," apparently in reference to the soil found in the county.

Waseca County is bordered by Rice County (northeast), Steele County (east), Freeborn County (southeast), Faribault County (southwest), Blue Earth County (west), Le Sueur County (northwest).

Waseca County Cities and Towns include Elysian, Janesville, New Richland, Waldorf, Waseca.

Waseca County Townships include Alton, Blooming Grove, Byron, Freedom, Iosco, Janesville, New Richland, Otisco, St. Mary, Vivian, Wilton, Woodville Townships.

A Map of Waseca County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Waseca County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Waseca County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Waseca County, MN Courthouse

The Waseca County Courthouse is located in Waseca, Minnesota. Courthouse burned in 1865 in the village of Wilton, the county seat in 1857. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Waseca county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Waseca County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1870, Marriage Records from 1857 and Land Records from 1856. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Waseca County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1871 and Court Records from 1857. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Waseca County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Waseca County, Minnesota Census Records

Waseca County, Minnesota Vital Records

Waseca County, Minnesota Resources

Waseca County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save