Freeborn County, Minnesota Records

Freeborn County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on February 20, 1855 (Organized in 1857) from Blue Earth County and Rice County. The county was named in honor of William S. Freeborn (1816-1900), member of the council in the territorial legislature, 1854-57; second mayor of Red Wing, 1858. .

Freeborn County is bordered by Steele County (northeast), Mower County (east), Worth County, Iowa (south), Winnebago County, Iowa (southwest), Faribault County (west), Waseca County (northwest).

Freeborn County Cities and Towns include Albert Lea, Alden, Clarks Grove, Conger, Emmons, Freeborn, Geneva, Glenville, Hartland, Hayward, Hollandale, Manchester, Myrtle, Twin Lakes.

Freeborn County Townships include Albert Lea, Alden, Bancroft, Bath, Carlston, Freeborn, Freeman, Geneva, Hartland, Hayward, London, Manchester, Mansfield, Moscow, Newry, Nunda, Oakland, Pickerel Lake, Riceland, Shell Rock Townships

A Map of Freeborn County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Freeborn County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Freeborn County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Freeborn County, MN Courthouse

The Freeborn County Courthouse is located in Albert Lea, Minnesota. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Freeborn county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Freeborn County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1870, Marriage Records from 1857 and Land Records from 1854. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Freeborn County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1866 and Court Records from 1857. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Freeborn County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Freeborn County, Minnesota Census Records

Freeborn County, Minnesota Vital Records

Freeborn County, Minnesota Resources

Freeborn County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save