Rock County, Minnesota Records

Rock County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on May 23, 1857 (Organized in 1874) from Brown County. The county was named for the prominent outcrop of quartzite north of the City of Luverne. (County was originally called Pipestone County and Pipestone County used to be called Rock County. The Counties swapped names in 1862.)

Rock County is bordered by Pipestone County (north), Murray County (northeast), Nobles County (east), Lyon County, Iowa (south), Minnehaha County, South Dakota (west), Moody County, South Dakota (northwest).

Rock County Cities and Towns include Ash Creek, Beaver Creek, Bruce, Hardwick, Hills, Jasper, Kanaranzi, Kenneth, Luverne, Magnolia, Manley, Steen.

Rock County Townships include Battle Plain, Beaver Creek, Clinton, Denver, Kanaranzi, Luverne, Magnolia, Martin, Mound, Rose Dell, Springwater, Vienna Townships.

A Map of Rock County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Rock County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Rock County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Rock County, MN Courthouse

The Rock County Courthouse is located in Luverne, Minnesota. At some time Rock County was attached to Big Sioux County, Martin County and Nobles County for county and or judicial purposes. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Rock county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Rock County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1870, Marriage Records from 1872 and Land Records from 1871. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Rock County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1873 and Court Records from 1874. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Rock County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Rock County, Minnesota Census Records

Rock County, Minnesota Vital Records

Rock County, Minnesota Resources

Rock County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save