Moody County, South Dakota Records

Moody County, South Dakota (Map It) was created on January 08, 1873 from Brookings County, Minnehaha County. The county was named in honor of Gideon C. Moody, Speaker of the House for Dakota Territory.

Moody County is bordered by Brookings County (north), Pipestone County, Minnesota (east), Minnehaha County (south), Lake County (west).

Moody County Cities and Towns include Colman, Egan, Flandreau, Lone Tree, Trent, Ward. has is a collection of old South Dakota maps.

Moody County, South Dakota Courthouse Records

The Moody County Courthouse is located in Flandreau, South Dakota. Learn More About State of South Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Moody county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Moody County Register of Deeds has Marriage Records from August 27, 1887  and Land Records from 1873?. The County Register of Deeds is the primary record-keeping and archival repository for county land records and for the recording & maintaining of records pertaining to that real estate, plats, deeds, mortgages & many miscellaneous documents. This office is the keeper of birth, death & marriage records, military discharge records, fictitious name filings, and various types of liens, including mechanic’s liens, state and federal tax liens.
  • Moody County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1873? and Court Records from 1873?.

Moody County, South Dakota Census Records

Moody County, South Dakota Vital Records

Moody County, South Dakota Resources

Moody County, South Dakota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save