Chippewa County, Minnesota Records

Chippewa County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on February 20, 1862 (Organized in 1869) from Davis County and Pierce County . The county was named for the Chippewa River. River so named by the Dakotas because of heavy use by Ojibway war parties to access the Minnesota River valley.

Chippewa County is bordered by Swift County (north), Kandiyohi County (northeast), Renville County (southeast), Yellow Medicine County (southwest), Lac qui Parle County (west).

Chippewa County Cities and Towns include Clara City, Granite Falls, Maynard, Milan, Montevideo, Watson.

Chippewa County Townships include Big Bend, Crate, Grace, Granite Falls, Havelock, Kragero, Leenthrop, Lone Tree, Louriston, Mandt, Rheiderland, Rosewood, Sparta, Stoneham, Tunsberg, Woods Townships.

A Map of Chippewa County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Chippewa County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Chippewa County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Chippewa County, MN Courthouse

The Chippewa County Courthouse is located in Montevideo, Minnesota. At some time Chippewa County was attached to Renville County for county and or judicial purposes. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Chippewa county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Chippewa County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1870, Marriage Records from 1870 and Land Records from 1870. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Chippewa County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1872 and Court Records from 1870. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Chippewa County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Chippewa County, Minnesota Census Records

Chippewa County, Minnesota Vital Records

Chippewa County, Minnesota Resources

Chippewa County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save