Montmorency County, Michigan Records

Montmorency County, Michigan (Map It) was created on April 1, 1840 from Mackinac County and unorganized territory. The county was named for the House of Montmorency, influential in the history of French Canada.

Montmorency County is bordered by Presque Isle County (north), Alpena County (east), Oscoda County (south), Otsego County (west), Cheboygan County (northwest).

Montmorency County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Hillman.

Montmorency County Townships include  Albert, Avery, Briley, Hillman, Loud, Montmorency, Rust, Vienna.

A Map of Montmorency County, Michigan contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Montmorency County, Michigan Courthouse Records

Montmorency County, Michigan Courthouse
  • Save

Montmorency County, MI Courthouse

The Montmorency County Courthouse is located in Atlanta, Michigan. Some early records  prior to organization on May 21, 1881 may be located in Mackinac County, Cheboygan County and Alpena County. Learn More About State of Michigan Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Montmorency county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Montmorency County Clerk has Births & Deaths from 1881 and Marriage Records from 1881. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. See also Montmorency County Clerk Information for Genealogists
  • Montmorency County Register of Deeds has Land from 1943.The County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
  • Montmorency County Clerk of the Probate Court has Probate from 1943. The County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
  • Montmorency County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Court from 1940. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.

Montmorency County, Michigan Census Records

Montmorency County, Michigan Vital Records

Montmorency County, Michigan Resources

Montmorency County, Michigan External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save