Rowan County, Kentucky Records

Rowan County, Kentucky (Map It) was created on May 1, 1856 from Fleming County and Morgan County. The county was named in honor of John Rowan, Congressman from Kentucky (1809–1811; 1825–1831) .

Rowan County is bordered by Lewis County (north), Carter County (northeast), Elliott County (east), Morgan County (south), Menifee County (southwest), Bath County (west), Fleming County (northwest).

Rowan County Cities and Towns include Lakeview Heights, Morehead, Clearfield, Farmers, Elliotville, Haldeman, Sharkey.

A Map of Rowan County, Kentucky contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Rowan County, Kentucky Courthouse Records

Rowan County, Kentucky Courthouse
  • Save

Rowan County, KY Courthouse

The Rowan County Courthouse is located in Morehead, Kentucky. Courthouse fires on 21 Mar 1864 and in the 1890s destroyed many records. Learn More About State of Kentucky Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Rowan county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Rowan County, Kentucky Census Records

Rowan County, Kentucky Vital Records

Rowan County, Kentucky Resources

Rowan County, Kentucky External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save