Decatur County, Iowa Records

Decatur County, Iowa (Map It) was created on January 13, 1846 (Organized in  March 6, 1850) from Unorganized Territory. Decatur County was named in honor of Stephen Decatur (1779–1820), a naval hero of the War of 1812

Decatur County is bordered by Clarke County (north), Wayne County (east), Mercer County, Missouri (southeast), Harrison County, Missouri (southwest), Ringgold County (west).

Decatur County Cities and Towns include Davis City, Decatur City, Garden Grove, Grand River, Lamoni, Leon, Pleasanton, Van Wert, Weldon.

A Decatur County, Iowa County and City Maps contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. has is a collection of old Iowa maps.

Decatur County, Iowa Courthouse Records

Decatur County, Iowa Courthouse
  • Save

Decatur County, IA Courthouse
Courthouse History

The Decatur County Courthouse is located in Leon, Iowa. Decatur County was attached to Davis County for a breif time prior to organization March 6, 1850. Some early records may be found there. The Second Courthouse was destroyed by a windstorm before it could be finished. The 3rd Courthouse was destroyed by a fire on March 31, 1874 (One book from the auditor's office and one book from the clerk's office survived). The 4th Courthouse was blown up on April 1, 1877 destroying the entire west side of the courthouse. Learn More About State of Iowa Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Decatur county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Decatur County Recorder's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1880, has Marriage Records from 1874 and has Land Records from 1851. he County Recorder's Office maintains official records of documents affecting title to real estate. Every real estate transaction that takes place begins in the Recorder's Office. One of the major duties of the office is the management of public records. As a result, accuracy and preservation of records are a must in the Recorder's Office. In addition to real estate transactions, the Recorder's Office issues titles and liens; records veterans discharge papers; processes passport applications; accepts marriage applications and issues the subsequent license; issues certified copies of birth, death and marriage records as well as other numerous duties.
  • Decatur County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1871and has Court Records from 1871. The County Clerk of Court manages and maintains all trial court records, including pleadings, evidence and orders. The clerks of court have hundreds of administrative duties. They accept and process fines, fees and court costs owed to the state, child support checks, and civil judgments owed to litigants. They maintain a record of liens on all real estate in the county. Clerks help with involuntary hospitalization cases. They have the authority to dispose of scheduled violations which are not contested and do not require a court hearing. Clerks are also responsible for informing state and local government agencies of court orders.
  • Decatur County Tax Assessor is responsible for assess and appraise all real estate and personal property, to have access to all public records of the county for the purpose of securing information pertaining to accurate listings of taxable property.

Decatur County, Iowa Census Records

Decatur County, Iowa Vital Records

Decatur County, Iowa Resources

Decatur County, Iowa External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save