Benton County, Iowa Records

Benton County, Iowa (Map It) was created on December 21, 1837 from Dubuque County. Benton County was named in honor of Thomas Hart Benton, a senator from Missouri who pushed for westward expansion of the United States, colonel in the War of 1812

Benton County is bordered by Black Hawk County (northwest), Buchanan County (northeast), Linn County (east), Iowa County (south), Tama County (west)

Benton County Cities and Towns include Atkins, Belle Plaine, Blairstown, Garrison, Keystone, Luzerne, Mount Auburn, Newhall, Norway, Shellsburg, Urbana, Van Horne, Vinton, Walford.

Benton County Townships include Benton, Big Grove, Bruce, Canton, Cedar, City of Belle Plaine, City of Shellsburg, City of Vinton, Eden, Eldorado, Florence, Fremont, Harrison, Homer, Iowa, Jackson, Kane, Leroy, Monroe, Polk, Saint Clair, Taylor, Union.

A Benton County, Iowa County and City Maps contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. has is a collection of old Iowa maps.

Benton County, Iowa Courthouse Records

Benton County, Iowa Courthouse
  • Save

Benton County, IA Courthouse
Courthouse History

The Benton County Courthouse is located in Vinton, Iowa. Benton County was attached to Jackson County and Linn County prior to organization March 1, 1846. The Courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1853. The county records were rescued by three courageous men who were seriously burned and died from their injuries three months after the blaze. Learn More About State of Iowa Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Benton county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Benton County Recorder's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1880, has Marriage Records from 1852 and has Land Records from 1847. he County Recorder's Office maintains official records of documents affecting title to real estate. Every real estate transaction that takes place begins in the Recorder's Office. One of the major duties of the office is the management of public records. As a result, accuracy and preservation of records are a must in the Recorder's Office. In addition to real estate transactions, the Recorder's Office issues titles and liens; records veterans discharge papers; processes passport applications; accepts marriage applications and issues the subsequent license; issues certified copies of birth, death and marriage records as well as other numerous duties.
  • Benton County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1856and has Court Records from 1860. The County Clerk of Court manages and maintains all trial court records, including pleadings, evidence and orders. The clerks of court have hundreds of administrative duties. They accept and process fines, fees and court costs owed to the state, child support checks, and civil judgments owed to litigants. They maintain a record of liens on all real estate in the county. Clerks help with involuntary hospitalization cases. They have the authority to dispose of scheduled violations which are not contested and do not require a court hearing. Clerks are also responsible for informing state and local government agencies of court orders.
  • Benton County Tax Assessor is responsible for assess and appraise all real estate and personal property, to have access to all public records of the county for the purpose of securing information pertaining to accurate listings of taxable property.

Benton County, Iowa Census Records

Benton County, Iowa Vital Records

Benton County, Iowa Resources

Benton County, Iowa External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save