Jackson County, Iowa Records

Jackson County, Iowa (Map It) was created on December 21, 1837 from Dubuque County. Jackson County was named in honor of Andrew Jackson (1767–1845), the seventh president of the United States

Jackson County is bordered by Dubuque County (north), Jo Daviess County, Illinois (northeast), Carroll County, Illinois (east), Clinton County (south), Jones County (west).

Jackson County Cities and Towns include Andrew, Baldwin, Bellevue, La Motte, Maquoketa, Miles, Monmouth, Preston, Sabula, St. Donatus, Spragueville, Springbrook.

A Jackson County, Iowa County and City Maps contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Iowa maps.

Jackson County, Iowa Courthouse Records

Jackson County, Iowa Courthouse
  • Save

Jackson County, IA Courthouse
Courthouse History

The Jackson County Courthouse is located in Maquoketa, Iowa. Learn More About State of Iowa Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Jackson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Jackson County Recorder's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1880, has Marriage Records from 1847 and has Land Records from 1838. he County Recorder's Office maintains official records of documents affecting title to real estate. Every real estate transaction that takes place begins in the Recorder's Office. One of the major duties of the office is the management of public records. As a result, accuracy and preservation of records are a must in the Recorder's Office. In addition to real estate transactions, the Recorder's Office issues titles and liens; records veterans discharge papers; processes passport applications; accepts marriage applications and issues the subsequent license; issues certified copies of birth, death and marriage records as well as other numerous duties.
  • Jackson County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1838and has Court Records from 1839. The County Clerk of Court manages and maintains all trial court records, including pleadings, evidence and orders. The clerks of court have hundreds of administrative duties. They accept and process fines, fees and court costs owed to the state, child support checks, and civil judgments owed to litigants. They maintain a record of liens on all real estate in the county. Clerks help with involuntary hospitalization cases. They have the authority to dispose of scheduled violations which are not contested and do not require a court hearing. Clerks are also responsible for informing state and local government agencies of court orders.
  • Jackson County Tax Assessor is responsible for assess and appraise all real estate and personal property, to have access to all public records of the county for the purpose of securing information pertaining to accurate listings of taxable property.

Jackson County, Iowa Census Records

Jackson County, Iowa Vital Records

Jackson County, Iowa Resources

Jackson County, Iowa External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save