Calhoun County, Georgia Records

Calhoun County, Georgia (Map It) was created on February 20, 1854 from Baker County and Early County. Calhoun County was named in honor of John C. Calhoun (1782 - 1850), a U.S. Congressman, a U.S. Senator, and Vice President of the United States from South Carolina.

Calhoun County is bordered by  Terrell County ( northeast), Dougherty County (east), Baker County (southwest), Early County (southwest), Clay County (west), Randolph County (northwest).

A Map of Calhoun County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Calhoun County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Calhoun County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Calhoun County, GA Courthouse

The Calhoun County Courthouse is located in Morgan, Georgia. The county courthouse has burned down in 1888 and again in 1920.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Calhoun county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Calhoun County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1854 and Court Records from 1854. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county.
  • Calhoun County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1854 and Probate Records from 1854.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Calhoun County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Calhoun County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Calhoun County, Georgia Census Records

Calhoun County, Georgia Vital Records

Calhoun County, Georgia Resources

Calhoun County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save