Saint Francis County, Arkansas Records

Saint Francis County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on October 13, 1827 and was formed from Phillips County. Parts of St. Francis County was used to form the following counties: Cross 1862, Lee 1873, Poinsett 1838, Woodruff 1862.

Other county boundry changes occured when St. Francis River declared boundary with Crittenden 3 November 1831, part annexed to Jackson 1 January 1851. Saint Francis County was named for the St. Francis River, a tributary of the Mississippi River.

Saint Francis County is bordered by Cross County (north), Crittenden County (east), Lee County (south), Monroe County (southwest), Woodruff County (northwest).

Saint Francis County Cities and Towns include Caldwell, Colt, Forrest City, Hughes, Madison, Palestine, Wheatley, Widener.

A Map of Saint Francis County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at

Saint Francis County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Saint Francis County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Saint Francis County, AR Courthouse

The Saint Francis County Courthouse is located in Forrest City, Arkansas. A fire in the latter part of 1874 destroyed many of the county records, but many of the deed records were only partially burned. They have since been recopied as far as possible. All the records were destroyed by fire during the War. They are therefore complete since 1874, and almost complete since 1865. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Saint Francis county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Saint Francis County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1910, Land Records from 1860 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Saint Francis County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1875 and has Probate Records from 1836. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Saint Francis County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Saint Francis County Health Department

Saint Francis County, Arkansas Census Records

Saint Francis County, Arkansas Vital Records

Saint Francis County, Arkansas Resources

Saint Francis County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save