Jefferson County, Alabama Records

Jefferson County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 13, 1819 from Blount County. Jefferson county was named in honor of Thomas Jefferson (1743–1826), 3rd U.S. President.

Jefferson County is bordered by Blount County (north), St. Clair County (northeast and east), Shelby County (south and southeast), Bibb County (southwest (a very short boundary), Tuscaloosa County (west and southwest), Walkery County (northwest and north).

Jefferson County Cities and Towns include Adamsville, Adger, Alton, Argo, Avondale, Bessemer, Birmingham, Brighton, Brookside, Cahaba Heights, Cardiff, Center Point, Chalkville, Clay, Concord, County Line, Dolomite, Edgewater, Ensley, Ezra, Fairfield, Forestdale, Fultondale, Gardendale, Grayson Valley, Graysville, Helena, Homewood, Hoover, Hueytown, Irondale, Kimberly, Leeds, Lipscomb, Maytown, McCalla, McDonald Chapel, Midfield, Minor, Morris, Mount Olive, Mountain Brook, Mulga, North Johns, Oak Grove, Pinson, Pleasant Grove, Pratt City , Providence, Rock Creek, Sandusky, Shady Grove, Ala., Shannon, Southside, Smithfield, Sumiton, Sylvan Springs, Tarrant, Trafford, Trussville, Valley Creek, Vestavia Hills, Warrior, West Jefferson, Woodlawn, Wylam.

A Map of Jefferson County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Alabama maps at

Jefferson County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Jefferson County, Alabama Courthouse
  • Save

Jefferson County, AL Courthouse

The Jefferson County Courthouse is located in Birmingham, Alabama. The County Seat was Carrollsville from 1819-21, at Elyton from 1821-73, and since 1873 has been at Birmingham, which was named for England's iron and steel center in Warwickshire. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1870.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Jefferson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Jefferson County, Alabama Census Records

Jefferson County, Alabama Vital Records

Jefferson County, Alabama Resources

Jefferson County, Alabama External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save