Oconto County, Wisconsin Records

Oconto County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on February 6, 1851 from Brown County. The county was named for a Native American settlement and the Oconto River, whose name means "plentiful with fish".

Oconto County is bordered by Marinette County (northeast), Brown County (south), Shawano County (southwest), Menominee County (west), Langlade County (west), Forest County (northwest).

Oconto County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Gillett, Oconto Falls, Oconto, Abrams, Bagley, Brazeau, Breed, Chase, Doty, Gillett, How, Lakewood, Lena, Little River, Little Suamico, Maple Valley, Morgan, Mountain, Oconto Falls, Oconto, Pensaukee, Riverview, Spruce, Stiles, Townsend, Underhill, Lena, Pulaski, Suring.

A Map of Oconto County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Oconto County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

  • Save

Oconto County, WI Courthouse

The Oconto County Courthouse is located in Oconto, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records. Oconto County was attached to Brown County for county and judicial purposes from 1851–52, 1852–54 and 1855–57. Some early records may be found there.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Oconto county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

County’s first courthouse burned down in 1891.

  • Oconto County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1876, Marriage Records from 1859, Death Records from 1872 and Land Records from 1838. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Oconto County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1857. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Oconto County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1857. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Oconto County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Oconto County, Wisconsin Census Records

Oconto County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Oconto County, Wisconsin Resources

Oconto County, Wisconsin External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save