Fayette County, Texas Records

Fayette County, Texas (Map It) was created on December 14, 1837 from Colorado County and Bastrop County. This county was named for Gilbert du Motier, marquis de La Fayette (1757–1834), the French-born general and hero of the American Revolutionary War.

Fayette County is bordered by Lee County (north), Washington County (northeast), Austin County (east), Colorado County (southeast), Lavaca County (south), Gonzales County (southwest), Calwell County (west), Bastrop County (northwest).

Fayette County Cities and Towns include Carmine, Fayetteville, Flatonia, La Grange, Muldoon, Round Top, Schulenburg..

A Map of Fayette County, Texas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Fayette County, Texas Courthouse Records

Fayette County, Texas Courthouse
  • Save

Fayette County, TX Courthouse

The Fayette County Courthouse is located in La Grange, Texas. Learn More About State of Texas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicate what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Fayette county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Fayette County Clerk has Birth & Death Records from 1903, Marriage Records from 1838, Land Records from 1838, Probate Records from 1838 and Court Records from 1838. The County Clerk's office is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
  • Fayette County Tax Assessor-Collector Office is responsible for the the assessment of taxes on each property in the county and collection of that tax

Fayette County, Texas Census Records

Fayette County, Texas Vital Records

Fayette County, Texas Resources

Fayette County, Texas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save