Marion County, Oregon Records

Marion County, Oregon (Map It) was created on July 5, 1843 as an original county. It was originally named Champooick District later Champoeg County, it was renamed to Marion County in 1849. The county was named in honor of Francis Marion (1732–1795), American Revolutionary War general ..

Marion County is bordered by Linn County (south), Polk County (west), Yamhill County (northwest), Clackamas County (north), Wasco County (northeast), Jefferson County (east).

Marion County Cities and Towns include Aumsville, Aurora, Detroit, Donald, Gates (also in Linn County), Gervais, Hubbard, Idanha (also in Linn County), Jefferson, Keizer, Mount Angel, St. Paul, Salem, Scotts Mills, Silverton, Stayton, Sublimity, Turner, Woodburn.

A Map of Marion County, Oregon contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Marion County, Oregon Courthouse Records

Marion County, Oregon Courthouse
  • Save

Marion County, OR Courthouse

The Marion County Courthouse is located in Salem, Oregon. Learn More About State of Oregon Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Marion county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Marion County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1849 and Land Records from 1850. The County Clerk has many duties which include vital statistics (births, deaths, marriage) and keeps a permanent public record of real estate transactions.
  • Marion County Circuit Court Clerk has Court Records from 1843 and Probate Records from 1841; Room B-280: No public access. Contact the circuit court office for access to the records. The County Circuit Court Clerk has general jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, and typically handle cases beyond the jurisdiction of other courts. Circuit Courts also handle divorce, child custody, disputes over title to land, probate matters, juvenile cases, guardianship, adoption, involuntary commitment, and requests for injunctions.
  • Assessor's Office: Courthouse Square Building, 555 Court St NE, Room 2233, Salem, OR 97309
  • Marion County Records Inventory The Oregon Historical County Records Guide includes descriptions and listings for each type of record in the inventory. Each series description includes a title and a description of how the records are used (function); types of records that may be included in each category (physical content); type of information that may be found (informational content)

Marion County, Oregon Census Records

Marion County, Oregon Vital Records

Marion County, Oregon Resources

Marion County, Oregon External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save