Linn County, Oregon Records

Linn County, Oregon (Map It) was created on December 28, 1847 from the southern portion of Champoeg County. The county was named in honor of U.S. Senator Lewis F. Linn (1795 - 1843) of Missouri, author of the Donation Land Act, which provided free land to settlers in the West..

Linn County is bordered by Marion County (north), Benton County (west), Lane County (south), Deschutes County (east), Jefferson County (east), Polk County (northwest).

Linn County Cities and Towns include Albany (also in Benton County), Brownsville, Gates, Halsey, Harrisburg, Idanha (also in Marion County), Lebanon, Lyons, Mill City, Millersburg, Scio, Sodaville, Sweet Home, Tangent, Waterloo.

A Map of Linn County, Oregon contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Linn County, Oregon Courthouse Records

Linn County, Oregon Courthouse
  • Save

Linn County, OR Courthouse

The Linn County Courthouse is located in Albany, Oregon. Learn More About State of Oregon Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Linn county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Linn County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1850 and Land Records from 1853. The County Clerk has many duties which include vital statistics (births, deaths, marriage) and keeps a permanent public record of real estate transactions.
  • Linn County Circuit Court Clerk has Court Records from 1850 and Probate Records from 1854. The County Circuit Court Clerk has general jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, and typically handle cases beyond the jurisdiction of other courts. Circuit Courts also handle divorce, child custody, disputes over title to land, probate matters, juvenile cases, guardianship, adoption, involuntary commitment, and requests for injunctions.
  • Linn County Records Inventory The Oregon Historical County Records Guide includes descriptions and listings for each type of record in the inventory. Each series description includes a title and a description of how the records are used (function); types of records that may be included in each category (physical content); type of information that may be found (informational content)

Linn County, Oregon Census Records

Linn County, Oregon Vital Records

Linn County, Oregon Resources

Linn County, Oregon External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save