Madison County, Nebraska Records

Madison County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on January 26, 1856 from Loup County and and Unorganized area of the Nebraska Territory. The county was named for either James Madison, the fourth president of the United States; or, more likely, Madison, Wisconsin, where most of the new county's settlers were from.

Madison County is bordered by Stanton County  (east), Platte County  (south), Boone County  (southwest), Antelope County  (northwest), Pierce County  (north).

Madison County Cities and Towns include Battle Creek, Madison, Meadow Grove, Newman Grove , Norfolk, Tilden .

A Map of Madison County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Madison County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Madison County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Madison County, NE Courthouse

The Madison County Courthouse is located in Madison, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Madison county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Madison County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1868. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Madison County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1867. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Madison Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1867 and Court Records from 1867. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1867,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Madison County, Nebraska Census Records

Madison County, Nebraska Vital Records

Madison County, Nebraska Resources

Madison County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save