Chouteau County, Montana Records

Chouteau County, Montana (Map It) was created on February 02, 1865 from Montana Territory as a Original County. The county was named in honor of Jean Pierre Chouteau (1758 - 1849) and his son Pierre Chouteau, Jr. (1789 - 1865). They were part of the Chouteau fur-trading family.

Chouteau County is bordered by Liberty County (north), Hill County (north), Blaine County (east), Fergus County (south), Judith Basin County (south), Cascade County (south), Teton County (west), Pondera County.

Chouteau County Cities and Towns include Big Sandy, Geraldine, Fort Benton.

A Map of Chouteau County, Montana contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Chouteau County, Montana Courthouse Records

Chouteau County, Montana Courthouse
  • Save

Chouteau County, MT Courthouse

The Chouteau County Courthouse is located in Fort Benton, Montana. Learn More About State of Montana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Chouteau county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Chouteau County Clerk and Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1895 and Land Records from 1865. The County Clerk and Recorder responsibilities include but are not limited to, recording and maintaining the majority of all the legal documents relating to real estate records, land descriptions, plats and surveys, county birth and death records and the records of the Board of County commissioners.
  • Chouteau County Clerk of District Court has Marriage / Divorce Records from 1882, Probate Records from 1865  and Court Records from 1865. The County Clerk of District Court is responsible for all District Court records. These records include Adoption, Civil, Criminal, Dependent Neglect, Domestic Relations, Guardianship, Juvenile, Paternity, Probate and Sanity cases. The clerk also issues, files and records all Madison County Marriage license applications and license.

Chouteau County, Montana Census Records

Chouteau County, Montana Vital Records

Chouteau County, Montana Resources

Chouteau County, Montana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save