Hancock County, Mississippi Records

Hancock County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 14, 1812 from Un-Organized land. The county was named in honor of John Hancock, first signer of the Declaration of Independence.

Hancock County is bordered by Pearl River County (north), Harrison County (east) and St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana (west).

Hancock County Cities and Towns include Bay St. Louis, Waveland, Diamondhead.

A Map of Hancock County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Hancock County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Hancock County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Hancock County, MS Courthouse

The Hancock County Courthouse is located in Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi. The County Courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1853, All records were detroyed. The county was severely damaged from Hurricane Katrina on August 28-29, 2005, causing catastrophic effects. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hancock county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Hancock County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1853, Probate Records from 1853 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Hancock County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1853 and Court Records from 1853. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Hancock County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Hancock County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Hancock County, Mississippi Census Records

Hancock County, Mississippi Vital Records

Hancock County, Mississippi Resources

Hancock County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save