Clarke County, Mississippi Records

Clarke County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 23, 1833 from Wayne County. The county was named in honor of Joshua G. Clark, the first elected judge following admittance to the Union .

Clarke County is bordered by Lauderdale County (north), Choctaw County, Alabama (east), Wayne County (south) and Jasper County (west).

Clarke County Cities and Towns include Quitman, Enterprise, Pachuta, Shubuta, Stonewall.

A Map of Clarke County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Clarke County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Clarke County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Clarke County, MS Courthouse

The Clarke County Courthouse is located in Quitman, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Clarke county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Clarke County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1834, Probate Records from 1837 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Clarke County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1853 and Court Records from 1867?. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Clarke County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Clarke County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Clarke County, Mississippi Census Records

Clarke County, Mississippi Vital Records

Clarke County, Mississippi Resources

Clarke County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save