Hampshire County, Massachusetts Records

Hampshire County, Massachusetts (Map It) was created on May 7, 1662 from Middlesex County. The county was named for the English county of Hampshire.

Hampshire County is bordered by Franklin County (north), Worcester County (east), Hampden County (south), Berkshire County (west).

Hampshire County Cities and Towns include Amherst, Belchertown, Blandford, Chester, Chesterfield, Easthampton, Florence, Goshen, Granby, Hadley, Hatfield, Huntington, Leeds, Northampton, Pelham, Russell, South Hadley, Southampton, Ware, Westhampton, Williamsburg, and Worthington.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Massachusetts maps.

Hampshire County, Massachusetts Courthouse Records

Hampshire County, Massachusetts Courthouse
  • Save

Hampshire County, MA Courthouse

The Franklin County Courthouse is located in Greenfield, Massachusetts. The county government was abolished on July 1, 1997. Learn More About State of Massachusetts Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. For Town Records contact the City/Town Hall Clerk.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hampshire county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Hampshire County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1812. The County Register of Deeds is the place where all transactions of a Real Property nature are recorded so that the public is made aware of their existence. Deeds, mortgages, tax liens, water liens, declaration of homestead and many other kinds of documents regarding the title and ownership of real estate are noted permanently in official records.
  • Hampshire County Clerk of Probate Court has Probate Records from 1660. The County Clerk of Probate Court has many responsibilities which include the administration of estates, probate of wills, and the appointment of guardians, have been under the jurisdiction of the courts since the 1630s. County courts and later, county judges of probate, were responsible for these functions until 1783, when the probate courts were established. In the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the probate and family courts were given jurisdiction over adoptions, divorces, name changes, and domestic relations.
  • Hampshire County Clerk of Courts has Court Records from 1677. The County Clerk of Courts has jurisdiction over all civil, criminal, and equity cases.
  • Hampshire County Town Clerks has copies of vital records (birth, marriage, divorce and death records). Clerks respond to inquiries regarding vital records, since most have indexes available. They also have tax lists that may still be available at the town office. Earlier taxes for the towns exist as well.

Hampshire County, Massachusetts Census Records

Hampshire County, Massachusetts Vital Records

Hampshire County, Massachusetts Resources

Hampshire County, Massachusetts External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save