Sagadahoc County, Maine Records

Sagadahoc County, Maine (Map It) was created on April 4, 1854 from part of Lincoln County. This county was named for the  Native American word meaning mouth of big river.Learn More About State of Maine History

Sagadahoc County is bordered by Kennebec County, Lincoln County (east), Cumberland County (west), Androscoggin County (northwest).

Sagadahoc County Cities and Towns include Arrowsic, Bath, Bowdoin, Bowdoinham, Georgetown, Phippsburg, Richmond, Topsham, West Bath, Woolwich. has is a collection of old Maine maps.

Sagadahoc County, Maine Courthouse Records

Sagadahoc County, Maine Courthouse
  • Save

Sagadahoc County, ME Courthouse

The Sagadahoc County Courthouse is located in Bath, Maine. Learn More About State of Maine Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Sagadahoc county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Sagadahoc County Registry of Deeds has Land Records:1826; Includes Lincoln County earlier deeds.. The County Registry of Deeds is the place where all transactions of a Real Property nature are recorded so that the public is made aware of their existence. Deeds, mortgages, tax liens, water liens, declaration of homestead and many other kinds of documents regarding the title and ownership of real estate are noted permanently in official records.
  • Sagadahoc County Clerk of Probate Court has Probate Records:1854. The County Clerk of Probate Court has has had several relating definitions over the years: the Widows and Orphans Court; the Poor Court; and the Court of Protection. All of these terms fit the description of the Probate Court.The Probate Court carries out the following procedures: Adoptions, Guardianship of Minors, Guardianships, Conservatorships, Change of Names, Estates, Trusts and Beginning Sept. 18, 1999 - Support of Enforcement.
  • Sagadahoc County Town Clerks has copies of vital records (birth, marriage, divorce and death records). Clerks respond to inquiries regarding vital records, since most have indexes available. Some of the Clerks records have been transfered to the Maine State Archives

Sagadahoc County, Maine Census Records

Sagadahoc County, Maine Vital Records

Sagadahoc County, Maine Resources

Sagadahoc County, Maine External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save