Cumberland County, Maine Records

Cumberland County, Maine (Map It) was created on March 28, 1760 from part of York County (originally Cumberland County, Massachusetts) . This county was named in honor of Prince William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland, son of George II of Great Britain.

Cumberland County is bordered by Androscoggin County, Oxford County (northwest), Sagadahoc County (northeast), York County (southwest).

Cumberland County Cities and Towns include Baldwin, Bridgton, Brunswick, Cape Elizabeth, Casco, Chebeague Island, Cumberland, Falmouth, Freeport, Frye Island, Gorham, Gray, Harpswell, Harrison, Long Island, Naples, New Gloucester, North Yarmouth, Portland, Pownal, Raymond, Scarborough, Sebago, South Portland, Standish, Westbrook, Windham, Yarmouth. has is a collection of old Maine maps.

Cumberland County, Maine Courthouse Records

Cumberland County, Maine Courthouse
  • Save

Cumberland County, ME Courthouse

The Cumberland County Courthouse is located in Portland, Maine. Learn More About State of Maine Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cumberland county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Cumberland County Registry of Deeds has Land Records:1760. The County Registry of Deeds is the place where all transactions of a Real Property nature are recorded so that the public is made aware of their existence. Deeds, mortgages, tax liens, water liens, declaration of homestead and many other kinds of documents regarding the title and ownership of real estate are noted permanently in official records.
  • Cumberland County Clerk of Probate Court has Probate Records:1908;  Fire loss; 1900-08 index survived.. The County Clerk of Probate Court has has had several relating definitions over the years: the Widows and Orphans Court; the Poor Court; and the Court of Protection. All of these terms fit the description of the Probate Court.The Probate Court carries out the following procedures: Adoptions, Guardianship of Minors, Guardianships, Conservatorships, Change of Names, Estates, Trusts and Beginning Sept. 18, 1999 - Support of Enforcement.
  • Cumberland County Town Clerks has copies of vital records (birth, marriage, divorce and death records). Clerks respond to inquiries regarding vital records, since most have indexes available. Some of the Clerks records have been transfered to the Maine State Archives

Cumberland County, Maine Census Records

Cumberland County, Maine Vital Records

Cumberland County, Maine Resources

Cumberland County, Maine External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save