Keokuk County, Iowa Records

Keokuk County, Iowa (Map It) was created on December 31, 1837 (Organized in 1844) from Dubuque County & Unorganized Territory. Keokuk County was named in honor of Keokuk (1767–1848), the Sauk Native American leader

Keokuk County is bordered by Poweshiek County (northwest), Iowa County (north), Washington County (east), Jefferson County (southeast), Wapello County (southwest), Mahaska County (west).

Keokuk County Cities and Towns include Delta, Gibson, Harper, Hayesville, Hedrick, Keota, Keswick, Kinross, Martinsburg, Ollie, Richland, Sigourney, South English, Thornburg, Webster, What Cheer.

A Keokuk County, Iowa County and City Maps contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. has is a collection of old Iowa maps.

Keokuk County, Iowa Courthouse Records

Keokuk County, Iowa Courthouse
  • Save

Keokuk County, IA Courthouse
Courthouse History

The Keokuk County Courthouse is located in Sigourney, Iowa. Keokuk County was attached to Cedar County, Johnson County & Washington County for a breif time prior to organization March 1, 1844. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Iowa Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Keokuk county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Keokuk County Recorder's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1880, has Marriage Records from 1844 and has Land Records from 1844. he County Recorder's Office maintains official records of documents affecting title to real estate. Every real estate transaction that takes place begins in the Recorder's Office. One of the major duties of the office is the management of public records. As a result, accuracy and preservation of records are a must in the Recorder's Office. In addition to real estate transactions, the Recorder's Office issues titles and liens; records veterans discharge papers; processes passport applications; accepts marriage applications and issues the subsequent license; issues certified copies of birth, death and marriage records as well as other numerous duties.
  • Keokuk County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1844and has Court Records from 1844. The County Clerk of Court manages and maintains all trial court records, including pleadings, evidence and orders. The clerks of court have hundreds of administrative duties. They accept and process fines, fees and court costs owed to the state, child support checks, and civil judgments owed to litigants. They maintain a record of liens on all real estate in the county. Clerks help with involuntary hospitalization cases. They have the authority to dispose of scheduled violations which are not contested and do not require a court hearing. Clerks are also responsible for informing state and local government agencies of court orders.
  • Keokuk County Tax Assessor is responsible for assess and appraise all real estate and personal property, to have access to all public records of the county for the purpose of securing information pertaining to accurate listings of taxable property.

Keokuk County, Iowa Census Records

Keokuk County, Iowa Vital Records

Keokuk County, Iowa Resources

Keokuk County, Iowa External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save