Cass County, Iowa Records

Cass County, Iowa (Map It) was created on January 15, 1851 (Organized in 1853) from Pottawattamie County.. Cass County was named in honor of Lewis Cass, a senator and presidential candidate from Michigan

Cass County is bordered by Audubon County (north), Adair County (east), Adams County (southeast), Mongomery County (southwest), Pottawattamie County (west), Shelby County (northwest).

Cass County Cities and Towns include Anita, Atlantic, Cumberland, Griswold, Lewis, Marne, Massena, Wiota.

Cass County Townships include Bear Grove, Benton, Brighton, Cass, Edna, Franklin, Grant, Grove, Lincoln, Massena, Noble, Pleasant, Pymosa, Union, Victoria, Washington.

A Cass County, Iowa County and City Maps contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. has is a collection of old Iowa maps.

Cass County, Iowa Courthouse Records

Cass County, Iowa Courthouse
  • Save

Cass County, IA Courthouse
Courthouse History

The Cass County Courthouse is located in Atlantic, Iowa. In March 1932, a fire destroyed the courthouse, but the county records were saved Learn More About State of Iowa Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cass county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Cass County Recorder's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1880, has Marriage Records from 1853 and has Land Records from 1853. he County Recorder's Office maintains official records of documents affecting title to real estate. Every real estate transaction that takes place begins in the Recorder's Office. One of the major duties of the office is the management of public records. As a result, accuracy and preservation of records are a must in the Recorder's Office. In addition to real estate transactions, the Recorder's Office issues titles and liens; records veterans discharge papers; processes passport applications; accepts marriage applications and issues the subsequent license; issues certified copies of birth, death and marriage records as well as other numerous duties.
  • Cass County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1864and has Court Records from 1873?. The County Clerk of Court manages and maintains all trial court records, including pleadings, evidence and orders. The clerks of court have hundreds of administrative duties. They accept and process fines, fees and court costs owed to the state, child support checks, and civil judgments owed to litigants. They maintain a record of liens on all real estate in the county. Clerks help with involuntary hospitalization cases. They have the authority to dispose of scheduled violations which are not contested and do not require a court hearing. Clerks are also responsible for informing state and local government agencies of court orders.
  • Cass County Tax Assessor is responsible for assess and appraise all real estate and personal property, to have access to all public records of the county for the purpose of securing information pertaining to accurate listings of taxable property.

Cass County, Iowa Census Records

Cass County, Iowa Vital Records

Cass County, Iowa Resources

Cass County, Iowa External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save