Newton County, Arkansas Records

Newton County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on December 14, 1842 and was formed from Carroll County.  

Other county boundry changes occured when Line with Madison defined 21 December 1841, line with Pope County defined 10 January 1853. Newton County was named in honor of Thomas W. Newton (1804–1853), a State Senator and member of the United States House of Representatives from Arkansas .

Newton County is bordered by Boone County (north), Searcy County (east), Pope County (southeast), Johnson County (south), Madison County (west), Carroll County (northwest).

Newton County Cities and Towns include Jasper, Western Grove, Bass, Compton, Deer, Hasty, Marble Falls, Mount Judea, Parthenon, Ponca, Vendor, Wayton.

A Map of Newton County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at

Newton County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Newton County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Newton County, AR Courthouse

The Newton County Courthouse is located in Jasper, Arkansas. It was reported all records destroyed by a fire in 1866 but complete from that time. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Newton county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Newton County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1880, Land Records from 1866 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Newton County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1866 and has Probate Records from 1880. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Newton County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Newton County Health Department

Newton County, Arkansas Census Records

Newton County, Arkansas Vital Records

Newton County, Arkansas Resources

Newton County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save