Trempealeau County, Wisconsin Records

Trempealeau County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on January 27, 1854 from Buffalo County, Chippewa County, Jackson County and La Crosse County. The county was named after the Trempealeau Mountain (from the French for "mountain with its foot in the water"), a bluff located in a bend of the Trempealeau River,which flows through the county.Learn More About State of Wisconsin History

Trempealeau County is bordered by Buffalo County (west), Eau Claire County (north), Jackson County (east), La Crosse County (southeast), Winona County, Minnesota (southwest).

Trempealeau County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Arcadia, Blair, Galesville, Independence, Osseo, Whitehall, Albion, Burnside, Caledonia, Chimney Rock, Dodge, Ettrick, Gale, Hale, Lincoln, Pigeon, Preston, Sumner, Trempealeau, Unity, Eleva, Ettrick, Pigeon Falls, Strum, Trempealeau.

A Map of Trempealeau County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Trempealeau County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

  • Save

Trempealeau County, WI Courthouse

The Trempealeau County Courthouse is located in Whitehall, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records. Trempealeau County was attached to La Crosse County for judicial purposes from 1854. Some early records may be found there.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Trempealeau county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Trempealeau County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1845, Marriage Records from 1856, Death Records from 1847 and Land Records from 1855. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Trempealeau County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1855. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Trempealeau County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1855. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Trempealeau County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Trempealeau County, Wisconsin Census Records

Trempealeau County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Trempealeau County, Wisconsin Resources

Trempealeau County, Wisconsin External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save