Kewaunee County, Wisconsin Records

Kewaunee County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on April 16, 1852 from Door County. The county was named for either a Potawatomi word meaning "river of the lost" or an Ojibwe word meaning "prairie hen", "wild duck" or "to go around".

Kewaunee County is bordered by Door County (north), Manitowoc County (south), Brown County (west).

Kewaunee County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Algoma, Kewaunee, Ahnapee, Carlton, Casco, Franklin, Lincoln, Luxemburg, Montpelier, Pierce, Red River, West Kewaunee, Casco, Luxemburg.

A Map of Kewaunee County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Kewaunee County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

  • Save

Kewaunee County, WI Courthouse

The Kewaunee County Courthouse is located in Kewaunee, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records. Kewaunee County was attached to Manitowoc County for judicial purposes from 1852–55 and Brown County for judicial purposes from 1855–58. Some early records may be found there.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Kewaunee county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Kewaunee County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1861, Marriage Records from 1859, Death Records from 1872 and Land Records from 1856. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Kewaunee County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1859. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Kewaunee County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1858. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Kewaunee County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Kewaunee County, Wisconsin Census Records

Kewaunee County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Kewaunee County, Wisconsin Resources

Kewaunee County, Wisconsin External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save