Kent County, Texas Records

Kent County, Texas (Map It) was created on August 21, 1876 from the Young Territory. This county was named for Andrew Kent, who died at the Battle of the Alamo .

Kent County is bordered by Dickens County (north), Stonewall County (east), Fisher County (southeast), Scurry County (south), Garza County (west).

Kent County Cities and Towns include Jayton..

A Map of Kent County, Texas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Kent County, Texas Courthouse Records

Kent County, Texas Courthouse
  • Save

Kent County, TX Courthouse

The Kent County Courthouse is located in Jayton, Texas. Learn More About State of Texas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicate what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Kent county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Some early records  prior to organization on November 8, 1892 may be located in Young County, Throckmorton County, Mitchell County and Scurry County. Courthouse in Clairemont, built in 1893, was burned in April 1955.  The building was vacant because the county seat moved to Jayton in 1954.  No record loss.

  • Kent County Clerk has Birth & Death Records from 1903, Marriage Records from 1892, Land Records from 1892, Probate Records from 1892 and Court Records from 1892. The County Clerk's office is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
  • Kent County Tax Assessor-Collector Office is responsible for the the assessment of taxes on each property in the county and collection of that tax

Kent County, Texas Census Records

Kent County, Texas Vital Records

Kent County, Texas Resources

Kent County, Texas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save