Hays County, Texas Records

Hays County, Texas (Map It) was created on March 1, 1848 from Travis County. This county was named for John Coffee Hays (1817–1883), a leading Texas Ranger and Mexican-American War officer .

Hays County is bordered by Travis County (northeast), Caldwell County (southeast), Guadalupe County (south), Comal County (southwest), Blanco County (northwest).

Hays County Cities and Towns include Austin , Bear Creek, Buda, Dripping Springs, Hays, Kyle, Mountain City, San Marcos, Wimberley, Woodcreek..

A Map of Hays County, Texas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Hays County, Texas Courthouse Records

Hays County, Texas Courthouse
  • Save

Hays County, TX Courthouse

The Hays County Courthouse is located in San Marcos, Texas. Learn More About State of Texas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicate what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hays county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Hays County Clerk has Birth & Death Records from 1903, Marriage Records from 1848, Land Records from 1848, Probate Records from 1839 and Court Records from 1850. The County Clerk's office is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
  • Hays County Tax Assessor-Collector Office is responsible for the the assessment of taxes on each property in the county and collection of that tax

Hays County, Texas Census Records

Hays County, Texas Vital Records

Hays County, Texas Resources

Hays County, Texas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save