Grayson County, Texas Records

Grayson County, Texas (Map It) was created on May 17, 1846 from Fannin County. This county was named for Peter Wagener Grayson, an attorney general of the Republic of Texas.

Grayson County is bordered by Marshall County, Oklahoma (north), Bryan County, Oklahoma (northeast), Fannin County (east), Collin County (south), Denton County (southwest), Cooke County (west), Love County, Oklahoma (northwest).

Grayson County Cities and Towns include Bells, Collinsville, Denison, Dorchester, Gordonville, Gunter, Howe, Knollwood, Luella, Pottsboro, Red Branch, Sadler, Sherman, Southmayd, Tioga, Tom Bean, Van Alstyne, Whitesboro, Whitewright..

A Map of Grayson County, Texas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Grayson County, Texas Courthouse Records

Grayson County, Texas Courthouse
  • Save

Grayson County, TX Courthouse

The Grayson County Courthouse is located in Sherman, Texas. Learn More About State of Texas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicate what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Grayson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Grayson County courthouse was burned by a mob on May 9, 1930. However ALL of the vital records, land records, and most court records were saved from this fire. The courthouse had records in fire proof rooms and storage areas.

  • Grayson County Clerk has Birth & Death Records from 1903, Marriage Records from 1846, Land Records from 1846, Probate Records from 1846  and Court Records from 1836. The County Clerk's office is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
  • Grayson County Tax Assessor-Collector Office is responsible for the the assessment of taxes on each property in the county and collection of that tax

Grayson County, Texas Census Records

Grayson County, Texas Vital Records

Grayson County, Texas Resources

Grayson County, Texas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save