New York County, New York Records

New York County, New York (Map It) created on 1683 as one of 12 original counties created in the New York colony. The county was named in honor of King James II of England (1633–1701), who was Duke of York and Albany before he ascended the throne of England, Duke of York being his English title .

New York County is bordered by Bergen County, New Jersey (west/northwest), Hudson County, New Jersey (west/southwest), Queens County (northeast), Queens County (east/southeast), Queens County (south/southeast), Richmond County (southwest).

New York County Cities and Towns include Alphabet City, Battery Park City, Bowery, Carnegie Hill, Chelsea, Chinatown, Civic Center, Columbus Circle, Cooperative Village, Diamond District, East Village, Ellis Island, Financial District, Five Points, Flatiron District, Garment District, Governors Island, Gramercy, Gramercy Park, Greenwich Village, Hamilton Heights, Harlem, Hell's Kitchen, Herald Square, Hudson Heights, Hudson Yards, Inwood, Kips Bay, Koreatown, Lenox Hill, Liberty Island, Lincoln Square, Little Germany, Little Italy, Loisaida, Lower East Side, Lower Manhattan, Madison Square, Manhattan Valley, Manhattanville, Marble Hill, Meatpacking District, Midtown, Morningside Heights, Murray Hill, NoHo, NoLIta, Peter Cooper Village, Polo Grounds, Radio Row, Randall's Island, Roosevelt Island, Rose Hill, San Juan Hill, SoHo, South Street Seaport, Spanish Harlem, Stuyvesant Town, Sugar Hill, Sutton Place, Tenderloin, Theatre District, Times Square, TriBeCa, Tudor City, Turtle Bay, Two Bridges, Union Square, Upper East Side, Upper Manhattan, Upper West Side, Ward's Island, Washington Heights, West Village, Yorkville. Islands of New York City include Barren Island, The Blauzes, Broad Channel Island, Chimney Sweeps, City Island, Coney Island, Ellis Island, Governors Island, Hart Island, High Island, Hoffman Island, Hunter Island, Isle of Meadow, Liberty Island, Long Island, Manhattan, Mill Rock, North Brother Island, Prall's Island, Randall's Island, Rat Island, Rikers Island, Roosevelt Island, Shooters Island, South Brother Island, Staten Island, Swinburne Island, Twin Island, U Thant Island, Ward's Island. has is a collection of old New York maps.

New York County, New York Courthouse Records

New York County, New York Courthouse
  • Save

New York County, NY Courthouse

The New York County Courthouse is located in New York City, New York. Also contact local Town Clerks. They are responsible for vast amounts of local information from deeds, property transfers, and genealogical materials. Research on place and road names, the history of property transfers and much more are available through your Town Clerk. They are a tremendous resources. Learn More About State of New York Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in New York county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

At the City Register's Ofice, Rooms 203-205, 31 Chambers Street, New York 10007. Early records of the County are in the Division of Old Records, 7th Floor. Pre-1830 surrogate files are not known to have survived. Extant early inventories are at the Surrogate's Court, the New York Historical Society, and the New York Municipal Archives

  • New York City Clerk has Land Records from 1654, Court Records from 1654 and Naturalization Records. State court naturalization records remain in custody of the county clerks. Older court naturalization records have been transferred to the National Archives--Northeast Region. The County Clerk is the keeper of most civil and criminal trial court records for Supreme Court and County Court, naturalizations, marriages (1908–35), censuses (Some county clerks' offices hold duplicate copies of some of the State censuses taken periodically between 1825 and 1925 and copies of the federal census), as well as deeds and mortgages.
  • New York County Surrogate Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1665. The County Surrogate Court Clerk maintain records of wills, letters testamentary, letters of administration, orders and decrees, and appointments of guardians; and filed papers, including original wills, petitions for probate (gives date of death and lists next of kin), performance bonds, property inventories (seldom found after ca. 1900), administrator's or executor's accountings, etc. Surrogate's Courts create comprehensive indexes to records and files.
  • New York City Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New York County (Manhattan Borough) Historian maintains archival holdings for virtually every facet of the county’s history. The county, town, city or village Historians may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area.
    In New York State Law: "§ 57.07. Local historian; appointment; maintenance of historical edifices.
    A local historian shall be appointed, as provided in this section, for each city, town or village, except that in a city of over one million inhabitants a local historian shall be appointed for each borough therein instead of for the city at large; and a county historian may be appointed for each county."

    Counties therefore are not REQUIRED to have an appointed county historian, but are ALLOWED to appoint such an historian. Cities, Towns and Villages "SHALL" appoint a historian, although there doesn't appear to be any dire consequence if one should fail to do so: the Village of Philmont in Columbia County, for example, has neglected to refill the office since the death of their last historian. 
  • New York City Vital Records Office, Dept of Health, 125 Worth Street, Rm #133, New York City, NY 10013; (212) 788-4520, (212) 788-8580 Archives

New York County, New York Census Records

New York County, New York Vital Records

New York County, New York Resources

New York County, New York External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save