Dutchess County, New York Records

Dutchess County, New York (Map It) created on November 1, 1683 as one of 12 original counties created in the New York colony. The county was named in honor of Lady Anne Hyde (1637–1671), Duchess of York and wife of King James II of England.

Dutchess County is bordered by Columbia County (north), Berkshire County, Massachusetts (northeast), Litchfield County, Connecticut (east), Fairfield County, Connecticut (southeast), Putnam County (south), Orange County (southwest), Ulster County (west) .

Dutchess County Cities and Towns include Beacon, Poughkeepsie, Amenia, Beekman, Clinton, Dover, East Fishkill, Fishkill, Hyde Park, LaGrange, Milan, North East, Pawling, Pine Plains, Pleasant Valley, Poughkeepsie, Red Hook, Rhinebeck, Stanford, Union Vale, Wappinger, Washington. Villages include Fishkill, Millbrook, Millerton, Pawling, Red Hook, Rhinebeck, Tivoli, Wappingers Falls. Communities include Amenia, Annadale-on-Hudson, Arlington, Brinckerhoff, Crown Heights, Dover Plains, Fairview, Haviland, Hillside Lake, Hopewell Junction, Myers Corner, New Hamburg, Pine Plains, Red Oaks Mill, Rhinecliff, Salt Point, Shekomeko, Spackenkill, Staatsburg, Wassaic.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old New York maps.

Dutchess County, New York Courthouse Records

Dutchess County, New York Courthouse
  • Save

Dutchess County, NY Courthouse

The Dutchess County Courthouse is located in Poughkeepsie, New York. Also contact local Town Clerks. They are responsible for vast amounts of local information from deeds, property transfers, and genealogical materials. Research on place and road names, the history of property transfers and much more are available through your Town Clerk. They are a tremendous resources. Learn More About State of New York Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Dutchess county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Almost uninhabited until 1701, Dutchess was administered by Ulster County from that time until at least 1713. Some older records, including marriages, 1908 - 35; state and federal censuses; tax records, 1854 - 1954; and the “Ancient Documents” series are at the County Records Center and Archives, 27 High St., Poughkeepsie 12601.

  • Dutchess County Clerk has Land Records from 1718, Court Records from 1718 and Naturalization Records. State court naturalization records remain in custody of the county clerks. Older court naturalization records have been transferred to the National Archives--Northeast Region. The County Clerk is the keeper of most civil and criminal trial court records for Supreme Court and County Court, naturalizations, marriages (1908–35), censuses (Some county clerks' offices hold duplicate copies of some of the State censuses taken periodically between 1825 and 1925 and copies of the federal census), as well as deeds and mortgages.
  • Dutchess County Surrogate Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1752. The County Surrogate Court Clerk maintain records of wills, letters testamentary, letters of administration, orders and decrees, and appointments of guardians; and filed papers, including original wills, petitions for probate (gives date of death and lists next of kin), performance bonds, property inventories (seldom found after ca. 1900), administrator's or executor's accountings, etc. Surrogate's Courts create comprehensive indexes to records and files.
  • Dutchess County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • Dutchess County Historian maintains archival holdings for virtually every facet of the county’s history. The county, town, city or village Historians may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area.
    In New York State Law: "§ 57.07. Local historian; appointment; maintenance of historical edifices.
    A local historian shall be appointed, as provided in this section, for each city, town or village, except that in a city of over one million inhabitants a local historian shall be appointed for each borough therein instead of for the city at large; and a county historian may be appointed for each county."

    Counties therefore are not REQUIRED to have an appointed county historian, but are ALLOWED to appoint such an historian. Cities, Towns and Villages "SHALL" appoint a historian, although there doesn't appear to be any dire consequence if one should fail to do so: the Village of Philmont in Columbia County, for example, has neglected to refill the office since the death of their last historian. 

Dutchess County, New York Census Records

Dutchess County, New York Vital Records

Dutchess County, New York Resources

Dutchess County, New York External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save