Litchfield County, Connecticut Records

Litchfield County, Connecticut (Map It) was created on October 14, 1751 and was formed from Fairfield County and Hartford County. The county was named after Lichfield, England.

Litchfield County is bordered by Litchfield County, Massachusetts (north), Hampden County, Massachusetts (northeast),Hartford County, Connecticut (east), New Haven County, Connecticut (southeast), Fairfield County, Connecticut (south), Dutchess County, New York (west),Columbia County, New York (northwest).

Litchfield County Cities and Towns include Barkhamsted, Bethlehem, Bridgewater, Canaan, Colebrook, Cornwall, Goshen, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Hartford, New Milford, Norfolk, North Canaan, Plymouth, Roxbury, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, Torrington (consolidated city-town), Warren, Washington, Watertown, Winchester and Woodbury. A Map of Connecticut Towns by County contains detailed information about county and town boundaries.

Litchfield County, Connecticut Courthouse Records

The Litchfield County Courthouse was located in Litchfield, Connecticut (1751-1960). Counties were abolished officially in 1959 though their purpose had been chiefly to define county court districts. For genealogical research purposes, counties become necessary when using the federal census returns, since they are all cataloged by county. Learn More About State of Connecticut Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each town clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Town Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

All deeds, vital records, and probate records for all Connecticut towns are available to 1900 on microfilm at the Connecticut State Library or through the FHL. See also Connecticut Towns and Their Establishment

Taxes were levied for personal property and land through most of Connecticut's history. The town assessor (or lister) made annual lists or rates of all taxables. This generated a considerable number of tax lists across time, but the Connecticut State Library has a list of various tax records still at the town clerk's offices. The Connecticut Historical Society and the genealogical collections throughout the state have some records.

Those matters not in the realm of the superior court were heard by the county courts (initially called prerogative or common pleas). The county court, begun in 1666, was abolished in 1955, and its functions were divided between justice courts and superior courts. Most of the county records, to its abolition date, are at the Connecticut State Library.

Litchfield County, Connecticut Census Records

Litchfield County, Connecticut Vital Records

Litchfield County, Connecticut Resources

Litchfield County, Connecticut External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save