Jackson County, Mississippi Records

Jackson County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 14, 1812 from Un-Organized Land. The county was named in honor of Andrew Jackson, War of 1812 hero and seventh U.S. President .

Jackson County is bordered by George County (north), Mobile County, Alabama (east), Harrison County (west) and Stone County (northwest).

Jackson County Cities and Towns include Gautier, Moss Point, Ocean Springs, Pascagoula.

A Map of Jackson County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Jackson County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Jackson County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Jackson County, MS Courthouse

The Jackson County Courthouse is located in Pascagoula, Mississippi. Four courthouse fires over the years destroyed many of the early records of Jackson County, the latest fire in 1875. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Jackson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Jackson County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1875, Probate Records from 1874 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Jackson County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1875 and Court Records from 1875. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Jackson County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Jackson County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Jackson County, Mississippi Census Records

Jackson County, Mississippi Vital Records

Jackson County, Mississippi Resources

Jackson County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save