Lyon County, Minnesota Records

Lyon County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on November 2, 1869 (Organized in 1870, Deorganized in 1873 the Reorganized in 1875) from Redwood County. The county was named in honor of General Nathaniel Lyon (1818–1861) who worked against secession in Missouri; served in frontier duty with Army in Minnesota and Dakota territory, 1853-61; killed in Civil War at battle of Wilson's Creek, Missouri, 1861.

Lyon County is bordered by Yellow Medicine County (north), Redwood County (east), Murray County (south), Pipestone County (southwest), Lincoln County (west).

Lyon County Cities and Towns include Amiret, Balaton, Cottonwood, Florence, Garvin, Ghent, Lynd, Marshall, Minneota, Russell, Taunton, Tracy.

Lyon County Townships include Amiret, Clifton, Coon Creek, Custer, Eidsvold, Fairview, Grandview, Island Lake, Lake Marshall, Lucas, Lynd, Lyons, Monroe, Nordland, Rock Lake, Shelburne, Sodus, Stanley, Vallers, Westerheim Townships.

A Map of Lyon County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lyon County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Lyon County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Lyon County, MN Courthouse

The Lyon County Courthouse is located in Marshall, Minnesota. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lyon county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Lyon County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1874, Marriage Records from 1871 and Land Records from 1870. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Lyon County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1890 and Court Records from 1875. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Lyon County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Lyon County, Minnesota Census Records

Lyon County, Minnesota Vital Records

Lyon County, Minnesota Resources

Lyon County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save