Emmet County, Iowa Records

Emmet County, Iowa (Map It) was created on January 15, 1851 (Organized in 1859) from Unorganized Territory. Emmet County was named in honor of Robert Emmet (1778–1803), Irish revolutionary and American republican sympathizer

Emmet County is bordered by Jackson County, Illinois (northwest), Martin County, Illinois (northeast), Kossuth County (east), Palo Alto County (south), Dickinson County (west).

Emmet County Cities and Towns include Armstrong, Dolliver, Estherville, Forsyth, Gridley, Gruver, Halfa, Hoprig, Huntington, Maple Hill, Raleigh, Ringsted, Wallingford.

A Emmet County, Iowa County and City Maps contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Iowa maps.

Emmet County, Iowa Courthouse Records

Emmet County, Iowa Courthouse
  • Save

Emmet County, IA Courthouse
Courthouse History

The Emmet County Courthouse is located in Estherville, Iowa. Emmet County was attached to Boone County & Webster County for a breif time prior to organization February 7, 1859. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Iowa Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Emmet county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Emmet County Recorder's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1880, has Marriage Records from 1876 and has Land Records from 1876. he County Recorder's Office maintains official records of documents affecting title to real estate. Every real estate transaction that takes place begins in the Recorder's Office. One of the major duties of the office is the management of public records. As a result, accuracy and preservation of records are a must in the Recorder's Office. In addition to real estate transactions, the Recorder's Office issues titles and liens; records veterans discharge papers; processes passport applications; accepts marriage applications and issues the subsequent license; issues certified copies of birth, death and marriage records as well as other numerous duties.
  • Emmet County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1877and has Court Records from 1859. The County Clerk of Court manages and maintains all trial court records, including pleadings, evidence and orders. The clerks of court have hundreds of administrative duties. They accept and process fines, fees and court costs owed to the state, child support checks, and civil judgments owed to litigants. They maintain a record of liens on all real estate in the county. Clerks help with involuntary hospitalization cases. They have the authority to dispose of scheduled violations which are not contested and do not require a court hearing. Clerks are also responsible for informing state and local government agencies of court orders.
  • Emmet County Tax Assessor is responsible for assess and appraise all real estate and personal property, to have access to all public records of the county for the purpose of securing information pertaining to accurate listings of taxable property.

Emmet County, Iowa Census Records

Emmet County, Iowa Vital Records

Emmet County, Iowa Resources

Emmet County, Iowa External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save