Merced County, California Records

Merced County, California (Map It) was created on April 19, 1855 from Mariposa County. Merced County's name derived its name from the Merced River of El Rio de Nuestra Senora de la Merced (River of Our Lady of Mercy); named in 1806 by an expedition, headed by Gabriel Moraga, which came upon it at the end of a hot dusty ride

Merced County is bordered by San Benito County (southwest), Santa Clara County (west), Stanislaus County (north), Mariposa County (east), Madera County (southeast), Fresno County (south) .

Merced County Cities and Towns include Atwater, Livingston, Los Banos, Merced, Dos Palos, Gustine .

Since its creation Merced County boundries have changed to include Territory which at one time was in Merced County is now in Fresno County, Madera County, San Benito County, and Stanislaus County..

There is a collection of old California maps at

Merced County, California Courthouse Records

Merced County, California Courthouse
  • Save

Merced County, CA Courthouse
Old Merced County, California Courthouse
  • Save

Old Merced County Courthouse

The Merced County Courthouse is located in Merced, California. Learn More About State of California Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Courthouse History - Merced's first court hearings took place under a tree on a local ranch that had been designated the county seat after the county separated from Mariposa in 1855. Construction was begun in 1874 on this grand Italianate building designed by Albert A. Bennett, one of the architects of the State Capitol Building in Sacramento. The courthouse is adorned with three statues of Justice and topped by a statue of Minerva, the Roman goddess of wisdom. It was used as the county courthouse until 1950, when the courts moved to more modern offices. Renovation of the building began in 1975, and the courthouse was rededicated as a museum in 1983. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Some early court records from the various courts may have been sent to the California State Archives. Besides court minutes and judgements, these records include tax lists, wills, deeds, estate inventories, and marriage bonds. The California State Archives has microfilm of selected county records, 1850–1919.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Merced county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Some counties encompass land settled in the eighteenth century; their records pre-date county formation. Land transactions and vital records recorded in the county are at the county recorder's office. The county clerk general has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be in either place, depending on how filed.

  • Merced County Recorder-Clerk has Birth / Death Records from 1873 / 1889, Marriage Records from 1855 and Land Records from 1856. The County Recorder-Clerk is s responsible for examination and recording of all documents presented for recording that deal with establishing ownership of land in the County or as required by statute; administers the real property transfer tax law and maintains a permanent record and indexes of all documents for public viewing plus providing certified copies requested by the public; recording of all lawful documents such as deeds, deeds of trust, judgments, liens, affidavits, Uniform Commercial Code Financial Statements, etc; and the filing of Births, Deaths, and Marriages.
  • Merced County Clerk of Superior Court has Probate Records from 1855 and Court Records from 1855. The County Clerk of Superior Court has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be here or in the Recorders Office, depending on how it was filed.
  • Merced County County Treasurer / Tax Collector
  • Local Registrar of Births and Deaths, 260 East 15th Street, Merced, CA 95341-0471; Office (209) 381-1013

Merced County, California Census Records

Merced County, California Vital Records

Merced County, California Resources

Merced County, California External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save