Oneida County, Wisconsin Records

Oneida County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on April 11, 1885 from Lincoln County. The county was named for the Oneida nation of Native Americans.Learn More About State of Wisconsin History

Oneida County is bordered by Vilas County (north), Forest County (east), Langlade County (southeast), Lincoln County (south), Price County (west).

Oneida County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Rhinelander, Cassian, Crescent, Enterprise, Hazelhurst, Lake Tomahawk, Little Rice, Lynne, Minocqua, Monico, Newbold, Nokomis, Pelican, Piehl, Pine Lake, Schoepke, Stella, Sugar Camp, Three Lakes, Woodboro, Woodruff.

A Map of Oneida County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Oneida County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

  • Save

Oneida County, WI Courthouse

The Oneida County Courthouse is located in Rhinelander, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records. Oneida County was attached to Lincoln County for county and judicial purposes from 1885–86. Some early records may be found there.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Oneida county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Oneida County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1887 , Marriage Records from 1887, Death Records from 1888 and Land Records from 1887. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Oneida County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1887. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Oneida County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1887. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Oneida County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Oneida County, Wisconsin Census Records

Oneida County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Oneida County, Wisconsin Resources

Oneida County, Wisconsin External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save