Skamania County, Washington Records

Skamania County, Washington (Map It) was created on March 9, 1854 from Clark County. The county was abolished by the Legislature on January 14, 1865. The county was divided into Clark County and Klickitat County. One year later, January 31, 1867, the abolition was revoked and Skamania County was re-established. The county was namedfor a Chinookan word meaning "swift water". The county is bisected north and south by the Cascade Mountains and contains Mount St. Helens, the most active volcano in the continental United States. The county is heavily forested and its economy depends primarily on logging and the wood products industry. Bonneville Dam on the Columbia River touches Skamania County and gave impetus to the county's economy. Fishing on the river has also provided a source of income to the county. .

Skamania County is bordered by Lewis County (north), Yakima County (northeast), Klickitat County (east), Hood River County, Oregon (south), Multnomah County, Oregon (southwest), Clark County (west), Cowlitz County (west).

Skamania County Cities and Towns include North Bonneville, Stevenson..

A Map of Skamania County, Washington contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Skamania County, Washington Courthouse Records

Skamania County, Washington Courthouse
  • Save

Skamania County, WA Courthouse

The Skamania County Courthouse is located in Stevenson, Washington. Learn More About State of Washington Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Although originally held in the county seat, many county land, probate, and court records have been transferred to the state archive's regional branches.

The Skamania County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth.

  • Skamania County Auditor has Birth and Death Records from 1891 to 1907, Marriage Records from 1892 and Land Records from 1854 . The County Auditor has many responsibilities which include the recording of real property documents such as deeds and other recorded documents, issuing various licenses such as marriage liscense.
  • Skamania County Clerk has Court Records from 1854 and Probate Records from 1854 . The County Clerk is the administrator of the Superior Court Clerk's Office. The Clerk's Office is responsible for keeping the permanent records of all cases filed in Superior Court. The type of cases filed are felony criminal cases, civil lawsuits, petitions for protection from domestic violence, family law matters (dissolutions 3rd Party Custody, parenting plans, modifications) probates, guardianships, Last Will & Testaments, paternities, adoptions and mental commitments. For judicial purposes, many of the Washington counties were attached to other counties.
  • Skamania County Treasurer is the property tax collector for the County. Property Taxes are levied on the property by the various taxing authorities based on the valuation and current property usage as set by the Assessor's Office.
  • The Skamania County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait.

Skamania County, Washington Census Records

Skamania County, Washington Vital Records

Skamania County, Washington Resources

Skamania County, Washington External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save