Wichita County, Texas Records

Wichita County, Texas (Map It) was created on February 1, 1858 from the Young Territory. This county was named for the Wichita Native American tribe .

Wichita County is bordered by Tillman County, OK (north), Cotton County, OK (northeast), Clay County (east), Archer County (south), Wilbarger County (west).

Wichita County Cities and Towns include Cashion Community, Burkburnett, Electra, Iowa Park, Pleasant Valley, Wichita Falls..

A Map of Wichita County, Texas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wichita County, Texas Courthouse Records

Wichita County, Texas Courthouse
  • Save

Wichita County, TX Courthouse

The Wichita County Courthouse is located in Wichita Falls, Texas. Learn More About State of Texas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicate what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wichita county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Some early records  prior to organization on June 21, 1882 may be located in Clay County and Montague County

  • Wichita County Clerk has Birth & Death Records from 1903, Marriage Records from 1882, Land Records from 1873, Probate Records from 1882 and Court Records from 1882. The County Clerk's office is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
  • Wichita County Tax Assessor-Collector Office is responsible for the the assessment of taxes on each property in the county and collection of that tax

Wichita County, Texas Census Records

Wichita County, Texas Vital Records

Wichita County, Texas Resources

  • Wichita County Historical Society
  • Texas State Archives, Regional Historical Resource Depository, University Library, Midwestern State University, Wichita Falls, TX 76308-2099
  • Burkburnett Genealogical Society, c/o Burkburnett Library, 215 E. 4th St., Burkburnett, TX 76354
  • Iowa Park Genealogical & Historical Society, 400 West Alameda, Iowa Park, TX 76367
  • Tom Burnett Memorial Library, 400 West Alameda, Iowa Park, TX 76367
  • North Texas Genealogical & Historical Association, Box 4602, Wichita Falls, TX 76308
  • Wichita Co. Records Available on Microfilm
  • Wichita County, Texas Message Boards

Wichita County, Texas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save