Wharton County, Texas Records

Wharton County, Texas (Map It) was created on April 3, 1846 from Brazoria County, Colorado County, Jackson County and Matagorda County. This county was named for William Harris Wharton (1802–1839) and John Austin Wharton (1828–1865), brothers and officers in the Texas Revolution .

Wharton County is bordered by Austin County (north), Fort Bend County (northeast), Brazoria County (east), Matagorda County (southeast), Jackson County (southwest), Colorado County (northwest).

Wharton County Cities and Towns include East Bernard, El Campo, Wharton..

A Map of Wharton County, Texas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wharton County, Texas Courthouse Records

Wharton County, Texas Courthouse
  • Save

Wharton County, TX Courthouse

The Wharton County Courthouse is located in Wharton, Texas. Learn More About State of Texas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicate what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wharton county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Wharton County Clerk has Birth & Death Records from 1903, Marriage Records from 1847, Land Records from 1837, Probate Records from 1846 and Court Records from 1847. The County Clerk's office is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
  • Wharton County Tax Assessor-Collector Office is responsible for the the assessment of taxes on each property in the county and collection of that tax

Wharton County, Texas Census Records

Wharton County, Texas Vital Records

Wharton County, Texas Resources

Wharton County, Texas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save