Liberty County, Texas Records

Liberty County, Texas (Map It) was created on March 17, 1836 as one of the original 23 counties . This county was named for its county seat, which was named either for the recent success of the Mexican War of Independence or for Liberty, Mississippi.

Liberty County is bordered by Polk County (north), Hardin County (east), Jefferson County (southeast), Chambers County (south), Harris County (southwest), Montgomery County (west), San Jacinto County (northwest).

Liberty County Cities and Towns include Ames, Cleveland, Daisetta, Dayton Lakes, Devers, Dayton, Hardin, Kenefick, Liberty, Mont Belvieu, North Cleveland, Plum Grove..

A Map of Liberty County, Texas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Liberty County, Texas Courthouse Records

Liberty County, Texas Courthouse
  • Save

Liberty County, TX Courthouse

The Liberty County Courthouse is located in Liberty, Texas. Learn More About State of Texas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicate what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Liberty county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Courthouse, built in 1857, was destroyed on December 28, 1872.  County records were destroyed

  • Liberty County Clerk has Birth & Death Records from 1903, Marriage Records from 1875, Land Records from 1875, Probate Records from 1895 and Court Records from 1874. The County Clerk's office is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
  • Liberty County Tax Assessor-Collector Office is responsible for the the assessment of taxes on each property in the county and collection of that tax

Liberty County, Texas Census Records

Liberty County, Texas Vital Records

Liberty County, Texas Resources

Liberty County, Texas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save