Lewis County, New York Records

Lewis County, New York (Map It) was created on March 28, 1805 from Oneida County. The county was named in honor of Morgan Lewis (1754–1844), the fourth Governor of New York.

Lewis County is bordered by St. Lawrence County (north), Herkimer County (southeast), Oneida County (south), Oswego County (southwest), Jefferson County (northwest).

Lewis County Cities and Towns include Castorland (village), Constableville (village), Copenhagen (village), Croghan (town), Croghan (village), Denmark (town), Diana (town), Greig (town), Harrisburg (town), Harrisville (village), Lewis (town), Leyden (town), Lowville (village), Lowville (town), Lyons Falls (village), Lyonsdale (town), Martinsburg (town), Montague (town), New Bremen (town), Osceola (town), Pinckney (town), Port Leyden (village), Turin (town), Turin (village), Watson (town), West Turin (town).

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old New York maps.

Lewis County, New York Courthouse Records

Lewis County, New York Courthouse
  • Save

Lewis County, NY Courthouse

The Lewis County Courthouse is located in Lowville, New York. Also contact local Town Clerks. They are responsible for vast amounts of local information from deeds, property transfers, and genealogical materials. Research on place and road names, the history of property transfers and much more are available through your Town Clerk. They are a tremendous resources. Learn More About State of New York Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lewis county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Lewis County Clerk has Land Records from 1805, Court Records from 1805 and Naturalization Records. State court naturalization records remain in custody of the county clerks. Older court naturalization records have been transferred to the National Archives--Northeast Region. The County Clerk is the keeper of most civil and criminal trial court records for Supreme Court and County Court, naturalizations, marriages (1908–35), censuses (Some county clerks' offices hold duplicate copies of some of the State censuses taken periodically between 1825 and 1925 and copies of the federal census), as well as deeds and mortgages.
  • Lewis County Surrogate Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1805. The County Surrogate Court Clerk maintain records of wills, letters testamentary, letters of administration, orders and decrees, and appointments of guardians; and filed papers, including original wills, petitions for probate (gives date of death and lists next of kin), performance bonds, property inventories (seldom found after ca. 1900), administrator's or executor's accountings, etc. Surrogate's Courts create comprehensive indexes to records and files.
  • Lewis County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • Lewis County Historian maintains archival holdings for virtually every facet of the county’s history. The county, town, city or village Historians may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area.
    In New York State Law: "§ 57.07. Local historian; appointment; maintenance of historical edifices.
    A local historian shall be appointed, as provided in this section, for each city, town or village, except that in a city of over one million inhabitants a local historian shall be appointed for each borough therein instead of for the city at large; and a county historian may be appointed for each county."

    Counties therefore are not REQUIRED to have an appointed county historian, but are ALLOWED to appoint such an historian. Cities, Towns and Villages "SHALL" appoint a historian, although there doesn't appear to be any dire consequence if one should fail to do so: the Village of Philmont in Columbia County, for example, has neglected to refill the office since the death of their last historian. 

Lewis County, New York Census Records

Lewis County, New York Vital Records

Lewis County, New York Resources

Lewis County, New York External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save